First Check In: We have arrived!

250px-ph_locator_cavite_silangLast night, around 11 pm Filipino time, all 72 of us brand new Peace Corps trainees arrived at our initial orientation site at IIRR in Silang, Cavite, a couple hours west of Manila. All volunteers fall in one of three groups: CRM (coastal resource management; ME!), CYF (children, youth, and families), and education.

It’s been a long journey, over the course of 3 days and 3 long plane rides, with 30 lbs of carry on bags and 90 lbs of checked bags. My feet have never been so swollen.

The most interesting part was my 2 hour layover in Tokyo. Although I never left the terminal, I feel that I got a decent sample of Japanese culture, complete with anime characters, kawaii outfits, selfie sticks, and matcha tea. What struck me the most, however, was the eerily low volume even in the busiest areas.

 

I haven’t been able to do any exploring yet, but so far the Philippines is about what I expected: beautiful, humid, and hot. (Also, it smells AMAZING.) And, it just feels good to have made it and know we’ll be settled in one place for the next two weeks.

Also, my address, just incase anyone wants to send me mail, is:

Cara Ann Simpson (name has to be exact for customs) c/o peace corps
6/F PNB Financial center
Macapagal Blvd., Pasay City
1308 Philippines

More to come soon!

 

Author: Cara Simpson

Fish enthusiast. Virginia born. Maryland educated. Philippines Peace Corps Volunteer.

1 thought on “First Check In: We have arrived!”

Leave a Reply

