Back to Fourth Grade

This week, I had the pleasure of returning to my alma mater, Fredericksburg Academy, to meet with the third and fourth grade students. While serving in the Philippines, I will be participating in the Coverdell World Wise Schools program. This program was established in order to help meet the third goal of the Peace Corps:

To help promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans.

Over the next school year, I’ll be keeping in contact with this group of young people and sending them updates about my service along the way.

 

During this first meeting, I talked with the students about the Peace Corps and generally what I’ll be doing. They asked me questions about the Philippines, the culture, and the animals that live there.

Relating to my position as a coastal resource management volunteer, I was especially excited to find out that, as part of the students’ science curriculum, they spend 6 weeks on marine biology and do projects on different marine animals. We decided for next year, the class will focus on animals found in the Philippines! I told them I’d do my best to get some cool underwater animal pictures and videos.

IMG_20160603_134415229_HDR
That’s me top-left!

Something that makes this correspondence particularly special is that my main point of contact, Mr. Evans, was my fourth grade teacher in 2000-2001! Back then, I was still deciding if I wanted to be an Olympic swimmer, a fashion designer, or a marine biologist. I think younger me would be pretty-OK with how things have turned out so far.

 

Author: Cara Simpson

Fish enthusiast. Virginia born. Maryland educated. Philippines Peace Corps Volunteer.

Leave a Reply

