The Application: Additional Information

I submitted my online application on September 30th, 2015. The application for my position opened up on July 1st, 2015, with a deadline of January 1st, 2016, and a know by date of March 1st 2016. So, I figured I was about in the early-middle of the pack of applications. Immediately after hitting submit, I received multiple emails asking for more information.

I was informed that in order for my application to be complete, I had three tasks to submit. The first was my Health History Form. To fill this out, I was given instructions to create a profile on a medical portal. It was explained that this information would be used as a starting point for the medical clearance process. This took a bit of time to fill out, asking basically every health-related question you could think of. It felt a bit invasive– but the strict medical clearance makes sense with what potential PC volunteers are apply to do.

Next, there was the Soft Skills Questionnaire. I found this part to be fairly bizarre.Basically, it was a click and drag interactive task that involved taking a word bank of maybe 50 attributes along with definitions and sorting them out into what you found to be important or not so important. This was done iteratively such that I was first asked for the most important and the least, then a few of lesser importance and lesser unimportance, this whittled down the word bank until only a few attributes remained. I can’t imagine that there were really any wrong answers. Attributes were vague and all generally positive, but also contradictory. For example, there were attributes that demonstrated flexibility but also attributes that demonstrated discipline and organization. However, I am curious how placement officers used this information. Maybe there’s some sort of a program where they categorized my personality or maybe it was just printed out as a list of things I clumped as important for the placement officer’s consideration.  I thought it was odd that at end, you were also given a time- as if that may somehow be taken into account. Being a competitive person by nature, I was somewhat proud of completing the task in just over 16 minutes.

Lastly, but perhaps most importantly, I had to complete the Assignment Selection Form. Here, I was asked to rank my top 3 countries of service as well as my top 3 sectors I wanted to work in. For some people (the more traditional PC application), the best option here may be the go anywhere, do anything choices. This allows PC to place you where they think you best fit and are most needed. I, however, was really applying to one opening. So, I only put that I wanted to go the Philippines and I wanted to work within the environment sector.

After those three items were submitted, it was just a waiting game.

Author: Cara Simpson

Fish enthusiast. Virginia born. Maryland educated. Philippines Peace Corps Volunteer.

Leave a Reply

